New Art Exhibit

August 1, 2008 –  A new art exhibit today with a focus on digital art and scanography by Peggy Miller opens at The Meeting Place on Market today.  Artwork will be displayed throughout the coffee house/ cafe during the month of August.  Open hours are Monday – Thursday, 7:30 am – 8 pm, Friday, 7:30 am – 11 pm, and Saturday, 9 am – 11 pm.  Visit our web site for more information:  www.meetingplaceonmarket.com.
 
About the Artist:  “I am a doodler.  Phone books, note pages by the thousands, paper forms, margins of letters; for years I have doodled on anything available while I am on the phone or waiting.  Never able to satisfy my artistic needs; always looking for an outlet to satisfy my seemingly inability to create artistic expressions.
 
In 1998, I started teaching computer software for Apollo Career Center’s Adult Education Department.  Because of the location of my office, I also had the opportunity to interact with the high school students and help them with some of their computer software problems.  It was these same high school students that first introduced me to computer graphics.  At last I was able to create something other than my simple doodles. 
 
In 2003, I transferred from Apollo’s Adult Ed department to the high school where I now teach the Internet Design and Multi-Media program.  Most of my graphic designs prints came to be as the result of a new lesson plan that I was teaching at the time.  One of my favorite things to do is to combine names or words into unique pieces of abstract art.  My graphics are all created using Adobe Photoshop or Adobe Illustrator. 
Recently I was introduced to “Scanography.”  Scanography is the process of creating photographs by using a flatbed scanner instead of a camera.  I found the results to be very interesting.  Because I am actually photographing the image from underneath, I am able to achieve a depth to my photographs that I could not have achieved with a camera.  I am also able to scan at a very high resolution which allows me to enlarge very small images and show incredible detail. 
 
When you look at my Illustrator drawings, you will notice that I have not given up doodling.  I have just incorporated some of my favorite doodles, stick people and flowers, into my art work.
Please enjoy my collection.”
 
At The Meeting Place on Market, a gourmet coffee house and cafe in downtown Lima at the corner of Market and West Streets.  Free and open to the public.
 
For more information, contact:
 
Jennifer Brogee
The Meeting Place on Market
www.meetingplaceonmarket.com
419-236-5711
jennifer@meetingplaceonmarket.com
Leave a Reply

